Glossip: Claire Foy as Facebook’s Sheryl Sandberg in Dark New TV Series - The Gloss Magazine
An image of actress Claire Foy playing Queen Elizabeth in the TV show The Crown

Glossip: Claire Foy as Facebook’s Sheryl Sandberg in Dark New TV Series

Claire Foy is set to play Sheryl Sandberg in a new TV series adapted from the book An Ugly Truth: Inside Facebook’s Battle for Domination …

The Crown’s Claire Foy is set to play Sheryl Sandberg in a new TV show Doomsday Machine that delves into the world of Facebook. The author of Lean In, a feminist mandate for the workplace, is the COO of Facebook and will be a key figure in the series, as well as Facebook co-founder and CEO, Mark Zuckerberg. The series has been adapted from the book An Ugly Truth: Inside Facebook’s Battle for Domination. While we don’t have too many details just yet, the series will reference XCHECK, a program which apparently exempted high-profile users such as Donald Trump from having to follow Facebook rules and regulations. It seems perfectly-timed given last week’s headlines in which a whistle-blower from the social media giant claims “Facebook chooses profits over safety”.

Meanwhile, Carrie Bradshaw fans will delight in the news that the highly-anticipated And Just Like That has finally gotten a release date the ten-part follow up to Sex and the City will air on HBO Max in December, it was revealed last week. While there has been much speculation over the on-set wardrobes and roll-call of characters, we can’t help but wonder how Carrie will navigate the world of new media as she ditches her famous column for a cult podcast. Watch this space…

Finally, fans of Scandi noir can get their latest fix from new drama The Chestnut Man (now streaming on Netflix). The series is set in the quiet suburbs of Copenhagen, where a series of twisted murders link a noted politician and the cold case of a missing girl to the ominous presence of a ‘chestnut man’ lingering at each crime scene. Perfect for fans of The Killing (the series is co-created by Søren Sveistrup who wrote the original Danish version of The Killing) it’s a pacy six-part thriller that will have you hooked (and utterly creeped out). 

Read about Sadie Frost’s directorial debut, a documentary about Mary Quant, here.

LOVETHEGLOSS.IE?

Sign up to our MAILING LIST now for a roundup of the latest fashion, beauty, interiors and entertaining news from THE GLOSS MAGAZINE’s daily dispatches.

Choose Your Categories

advertising

Newsletter

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This